Get Your Point Across in 30 Seconds or Less

What do you say when someone asks you to describe what you do, or asks how you do something? I had that experience last week. Someone asked me this: “What kind of writing are you good at?”

I could tell him how I like to write. I enjoy writing informational material. I like to inspire people to think more and to push their own perceived limits. I value clear, concise language. But none of these explanations answered his question about what I am good at writing. So I thought about it and I compared what I know about my writing with various formats and uses. Here’s what I came up with:

I write material (content) to inform and inspire. My style is especially suited to the type of content used on websites and in reports.

This week, someone asked me to write a few sentences about myself that she can use to introduce me to a group that I joined. Here’s what I wrote about myself.

Sharon took her love for reading, writing, and learning to the next level. She establishing herself in a first career as an editor and then a second career as a workplace learning professional. Now, Sharon is offering her services as a writer, a book coach and editor, and as a learning and performance consultant, a skill set that writers who are also teaching or training will find very useful.

This 22-second statement says a lot about me for a specific audience. It’s not everything there is to know about me, and it doesn’t need to be. She didn’t ask me for my bio.

Getting your point across in 30 seconds or less (whether in writing or spoken) is a great skill to sharpen.

Now, you try it. Imagine that you’re meeting a group of new professional colleagues. What do you want the person who will introduce you to say about you?

Write a 30-second (or less) personal introduction, commit it to memory so you have an answer ready when someone asks.

 

Get Your Point Across in 30 Seconds or Less.

Leave a Reply

